Board of County Commissioners

Photo of County Commission 2018-19, Michelle Coldiron, David Rice, Sylvia Murphy, Danny Kolhage and

The Florida Constitution states the governing body of each county shall be a Board of County Commissioners composed of five members serving staggered terms of four years, except when otherwise provided by county charter.

After each 10-year census, the Board of County Commissioners shall divide the county into districts of contiguous territory as nearly equal in population as practicable. One commissioner residing in each district shall be elected by the electors of the county.

Danny Kolhage


Michelle Coldiron

Photo of Commissioner Michelle Coldiron

Heather Carruthers

Heather Carruthers

David Rice


Sylvia Murphy

Mayor Pro Tem Commissioner Commissioner
Commissioner Mayor 
District 1
Email Danny Kolhage

530 Whitehead Street
Suite 102
Key West, FL 33040
(305) 292-3440
District 2
Email Michelle Coldiron

25 Ships Way
Big Pine Key, FL 33043
(305) 292-4512
District 3
Email Heather Carruthers

500 Whitehead Street,
Suite 102
Key West, FL 33040
(305) 292-3430
District 4
Email David Rice

9400 Overseas Hwy,
Suite 210
Marathon, FL 33050
(305) 289-6000
District 5
Email Sylvia Murphy

102050 Overseas Hwy,
Suite 234
Key Largo, FL 33037
(305) 453-8787


The Board of County Commissioners meets on the third Wednesday and Thursday of every month at 9 a.m. at one of the following three locations:

Murray E Nelson Government Center
102050 Overseas Highway
Key Largo, FL 33037

Marathon Government Center
2798 Overseas Highway
Marathon, FL 33050

Harvey Government Center
1200 Truman Avenue
Key West, FL 33040


ADA Assistance:If you are a person with a disability who needs special accommodations in order to participate in these proceedings, please contact the County Administrator's Office, by phoning 305-292-4441, between the hours of 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m., no later than five (5) calendar days prior to the scheduled meeting; if you are hearing or voice impaired, call "711."

BOCC Meetings and Agendas

BOCC 2018 Meeting Schedule

ADA Accommodation Request Form