This website is updated with new Monroe County-related information as new information becomes available. Florida Dept. of Health information regarding cases is updated when there are changes.
Latest Orders and Directives
Governor’s Executive Orders
- Governor’s Executive Order 20-112 - Phase 1
- Governor’s Executive Order 20-123 - Full Phase 1
- Governor’s Executive Order 20-139 - Phase 2
Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR) Emergency Order
- Emergency Order 2020-09 - Bars Cannot Serve Alcohol
- Amended Emergency Order 2020-09 - Defines Bar Seating in Restaurants
Monroe County Emergency Directives
- Monroe County Emergency Directive 20-08 Second Amendment
- Monroe County Executive Directive 20-09 - Lodging Allowed
- Monroe County Executive Directive 20-08 Third Amendment - Rescinds Visitor Ban, Checkpoint
- Monroe County Emergency Directive 20-10 - Requiring Facial Inside and Outside Coverings Whenever Social Distancing Cannot Be Observed
Active Monroe County COVID-19 Related Ordinances
- Monroe County Ordinance 024-2020 - Face Mask Requirements in public places and where social distancing cannot be done, Stricter Penalties, Code Enforcement
- Monroe County Ordinance 025-2020 - Nightly Restuarant closures, Drive Through, Delivery, and Curbside service allowed.
Countywide Nightly Restaurant Closures and Alcohol Sales Ban
The Monroe County Board of County Commissioners will implement a countywide closure of restaurants and bars nightly from 11 p.m. until 5 a.m. and will prohibit alcohol package sales nightly from 11 p.m. until 7 a.m. (in conjunction with the normal 4 a.m. to 7 a.m. alcohol sale ban) through Wednesday, August 19. The ordinance will be re-discussed at the regularly scheduled board meeting on Wednesday, August 19 where it could potentially be renewed. Bars are still currently closed per the Department of Business and Professional Regulation Emergency Order but are included in the local ordinance should things change at the state level.
The closures and alcohol sales will be in effect throughout the county and municipalities unless a municipality enacts different rules.
Any person found in violation may be punished by up to 60 days in the County jail and/or a fine of up to $500. Violators are also subject to administrative fines of up to $1,000 for a first offense and $5,000 for a repeat offense. Each day a violation of this ordinance occurs is considered a separate offense.
Facial Coverings are MANDATORY in the Florida Keys
Monroe County requires all persons over the age of six to wear a facial covering whenever away from their home and unable to engage in social distancing. Every person over the age of six who is away from his or her residence shall carry a face-covering capable of immediate use.
The ordinance requires operators and employees of business establishments to ensure customers comply within the establishment. A face covering MUST cover the nose and mouth and may include a face mask, homemade mask, or other cloth, silk, or linen covering, such as a scarf, bandana, handkerchief, or other similar cloth covering. There is an exception for those seated at a restaurant, and for gym and barbershop patrons.
A law enforcement officer may arrest or issue a notice to appear for any knowing and intentional violations committed in his or her presence or through an arrest warrant. Violations shall be prosecuted by the State Attorney of the 16th Judicial Circuit. A person found in violation may be punished by up to 60 days in the County jail and/or a fine of up to $500.
- Are the Florida Keys open for lobster mini season?
- Are boat ramps and fishing bridges open?
- Is there any assistance available for local families?
- I believe I have COVID-19. What are my testing options?
- Are facial coverings required?
- What are the code compliance numbers for those not wearing facial coverings?
County or municipal code compliance officer, as well as a law enforcement officer, upon observation of a violation by a person who does not immediately put on a face-covering after receiving a warning, to issue a notice to appear or civil citation to appear in County Court. Any person or business establishment prosecuted under this subsection and found in violation of this ordinance may be punished by a fine of up to $500. Code officers can also issue an administrative notice of violation with fines of up to $1,000 for a first offense and $5,000 for a repeat offense. Each day a violation of this ordinance occurs is considered a separate offense.
The mandatory facial covering directive applies throughout Monroe County and the municipalities, but the municipalities may impose additional restrictions. In the City of Key West every person over the age of six, while physically located in the City of Key West and who is away from their residence, is required to wear a mask, regardless of whether social distancing is maintained. This 3rd Amendment to Key West Emergency Directive 2020-13 also directs operators and employees of business establishments to ensure that every individual in the establishment complies with this directive. It continues to allow restaurant patrons to remove their mask only when seated at a table and eating or drinking. Individuals violating this directive are subject to a second-degree misdemeanor charge, which carries fines up to $500 and potential jail terms of up to 60 days, with higher penalties for repeated offenses. For more information on City of Key West directives and orders, visit www.cityofkeywest-fl.gov.
- Restaurant customers or patrons while dining and/or consuming beverages while seated at a table
- A gym patron engaged in a workout or class where at least 6 feet of distancing exists with the next closest patron.
- Barbershop or beauty salon customers or patrons when wearing a face covering would reasonably interfere with receiving services.
- Business owners, managers, and employees who are in an area of a business establishment that is not open to customers, patrons, or the public, provided that 6 feet of distance exist between employees. This exception does not apply to employees who are present in the kitchen or other food and beverage preparation area of a restaurant or food establishment. When an owner, manager, or employee is in their place of employment but not within six feet of another person, that owner, manager, or employee does not need to wear a mask.
- Bar patrons while consuming beverages and/or food.
- A lodging establishment guest when inside of the lodging unit including but not limited to a hotel room, motel room, vacation rental unit, timeshare unit, or similar unit.
- The owner, operator, manager, and employee of a business or lodging establishment shall ensure that every individual in that establishment complies with this section.
When a customer of a business establishment asserts that he or she has a disability that prevents the individual from wearing a mask, the owner, manager, or employee of the business establishment may exclude the individual, even if they have a disability, as they pose a direct threat to the health and safety of employees and other customers, even if asymptomatic, and shall accommodate the disabled individual in a manner that does not fundamentally alter the operations of the business establishment nor jeopardize the health of that business’s employees and other customers, such as providing curb service or delivery or other reasonable accommodation.
Complaints or Violations
Report businesses violating the Governor’s Executive Orders (restaurant and retail business capacity limitations) to the Department of Business & Professional Regulation.
Code Compliance for Local Ordinance Requiring Masks or Capacity issues at a Vacation Rental
- Unincorporated Monroe County Dedicated Non-Compliance Number: 305-289-2819
- Key West Code Compliance Number: 305-809-3740
- Marathon Code Compliance: 305-289-5024
- Key Colony Beach Code Compliance: 305-289-1212 ext. 3
- Islamorada Code Compliance: 305-664-6435
- Layton Code Compliance: 305-664-4667
If after hours, or the weekend, leave a message and the complaint will be addressed the following business day. After hours or weekend issues needing immediate attention, call the Monroe County Sheriff Office Non-Emergency Line at 305-289-2351 for unincorporated Monroe County and Key West Police Department at 305-809-1000 for the City of Key West.
Florida Keys Coronavirus Cases
- Florida Department of Health
- Florida Department of Health Call Center, 866-779-6121 (24 Hours)
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
- World Health Organization
Senior citizens and individuals with an underlying medical condition are still strongly encouraged to stay at home and take all measures to limit the risk of exposure to COVID-19.
CDC COVID-19 Guidance
- Social Distancing, Quarantine, and Isolation
- Use of Cloth Face Coverings to Help Slow the Spread of COVID-19
- Cloth Face Coverings: Questions and Answers
- COVID View: A Weekly Surveillance Summary of U.S. COVID-19 Activity
- How to Prepare
- CDC’s role in helping cruise ship travelers during the COVID-19 pandemic
- Cases in the U.S.
- Testing in the U.S.
Monroe County Staff Directory
Monroe County Departments
Monroe County buildings are open to the public, but in some cases only during limited times or for appointments only. View the departments for more information. Masks must be worn in all Monroe County buildings.
Monroe County Emergency Management
Emergency Management continues to monitor the situation in conjunction with the Florida Department of Health and will continue to facilitate conference calls with partner agencies and the municipalities.
- Monroe County Emergency Management activated its EOC to Level 2 Partial Activation and is meeting regularly since March 17, 2020.