Monroe County Land Authority

The Monroe County Comprehensive Plan Land Authority, known as the Monroe County Land Authority (Authority), has a core mission to acquire property for conservation use. The Authority also provides funding for affordable housing projects, prevents or satisfies private property acquisition, and maintains the conservation land stewardship program in Monroe County within the Florida Keys and Key West Areas of Critical State Concern. 

The Authority was established to assist in the implementation of land use plans and to serve as an intermediary between landowners and government agencies that regulate land use. The Authority is a component of Monroe County government created in 1986 and governed by the Board of County Commissioners (BOCC). 

Governing Board

Name Seat
Mayor Pro Tem David Rice Chair
Mayor Michelle Coldiron Vice Chair
Commissioner Craig Cates Commissioner
Commissioner Eddie Martinez Commissioner
Commissioner Holly Merrill Raschein Commissioner

Governing board meetings are held during the monthly regularly scheduled BOCC meetings. The governing board’s agendas are included in the BOCC agendas. The Monroe County Land Authority Governing Board usually meets on the third Wednesday of every month at 9:30 a.m. at one of the following three rotating locations:

Meeting Locations

Location Address 2021 Dates 2022 Dates
Murray Nelson
Government Center
102050 Overseas Hwy
Key Largo, FL 33037
March, June, 
Sept. 15, Dec. 8
Government Center
2798 Overseas Hwy
Marathon, FL 33050
Jan., April, 
July, Oct. 20
Government Center
1200 Truman Avenue
Key West, FL 33040
Feb, May, 
Aug. 18, Nov. 17

Financial Information

The Land Authority's fiscal year is from Oct. 1 to Sept. 31.


The taxes and fees received by the Authority consist of a surcharge on admissions and overnight occupancy at state parks in the unincorporated county in the amounts authorized by Florida Statutes section 380.0685

A half-cent of the tourist impact tax charged on lodging in the Keys is authorized by Florida Statutes section 125.0108.

Land Authority Advisory Committee

A five-member advisory committee, appointed by the governing board, provides recommendations regarding land conservation acquisitions.

Areas of Critical State Concern

Code of Ethics

  1. Land Authority Executive Director Christine Hurley Headshot

    Christine Hurley

    Executive Director
    Phone: 305-295-5180

  2. Dina Gambuzza

    Office Manager
    Phone: 305-295-5180

  3. Land Authority

    Physical Address
    1200 Truman Avenue
    Suite 207
    Key West, FL 33040

    Phone: 305-295-5180

    Monday - Friday
    8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m.