Substance Abuse Policy Advisory Board

The Substance Abuse Policy Board was established on May 9, 1990 with the adoption of Resolution No. 279-1990 per Florida Administrative Code requirements. The duties of the board are to address substance abuse problems, identify additional resources needed to address these problems, develop a prevention strategy and coordinate drug control efforts in Monroe County. The board shall also meet to review and recommend applications for funding under the Florida Department of Law Enforcement’s Byrne Justice Assistance Grant Program.

Members of the board serve by reason of their job position as outlined in Resolution Nos. 288-1998 and 165-1999. All except the County Commissioner shall continue to serve until they are no longer in that position or termination of the Board by the Board of County Commissioners. The County Commissioner member will be designated by the Board of County Commissioners in November of each year.

ADA Assistance: If you are a person with a disability who needs special accommodations in order to participate in these proceedings, please contact the County Administrator's Office, by phoning 305-292-4441, between the hours of 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m., no later than five (5) calendar days prior to the scheduled meeting; if you are hearing or voice impaired, call "711". Accommodation Request Form

About the Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant Program (JAG) & Monroe County's Clerk's Drug Abuse Trust Fund  

          The Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE), Office of Criminal Justice Grants (OCJG) acts as the State Administering Agency (SAA) or designated pass-through entity for various federal grant programs, e.g., Byrne/JAG Grant Program, from the United States Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs.  OCJG secures, distributes, and manages federal grant funds for Florida's Criminal Justice and Law Enforcement community.  
          The Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant (JAG):  A national formula-based, block grant program administered by the U.S Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs. Byrne/JAG funds are used to improve the criminal justice system and support various activities to prevent and control crime including prevention and education programs, and drug treatment and enforcement programs, to name a few. For more information about the Byrne/JAG Grant program you may visit FDLE’s website.

          Monroe County's Clerk's Drug Abuse Trust Fund:  These funds have been used to supplement the Byrne/JAG funding and are used for substance abuse treatment and/or educational programs. The SAPAB will make recommendations on the amount of funds to distribute.

FY2018 Funding Cycle:  Edward Byrne Memorial JAG Program & Clerk's Drug Abuse Trust Fund
Submission of the Application and Deadline: To be considered for funding please complete the fillable application form (below). Applications must be received in the Office of Management and Budget, no later than Friday, November 17, 2017 at 5 p.m. Options for submission of the application: (1) submitted via email or (2) one paper application may be mailed or hand delivered to the Monroe County BOCC, Office of Management and Budget, Room 2-213, Gato Building, 1100 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040

Byrne JAG/Clerk's Drug Abuse Trust Fund Application (Fillable Application Form)

The SAPAB will meet to review the applications and make recommendations to the BOCC. The meeting, November 27,2017, is open to the public and applicants are encouraged to attend and answer any questions the SAPAB may have.

FY2018 SAPAB Recommendations

FY2018 Applications Received

Previous Funding Recommendations & Applications Submitted: 

FY2017 SAPAB Recommendations

FY2017 Applications Received

Substance Abuse Policy Advisory Board Members

County Commissioner
Danny Kolhage
State Attorney, Designee
Val Winter
Public Defender
Robert Lockwood
Circuit Court Judge
Mark H. Jones
Monroe County Sheriff, Designee
Louis S. Caputo
Chief, Key West Police Department, Designee
Steve Torrence, Chairperson
Chief, Key Colony Beach Police Department
Kris DeGiovanni
Jail Administrator
Tim Age
Dept of Corrections Director
Brylan Jacobs
Rep. of Local Drug Treatment Program
Duane Triplett
Rep. of Monroe County Probation Service
Adele Faris
Court Administrator
Holly Elomina, Vice-Chairperson
Clerk of the Court
Kevin Madok
Superintendent of Education
Mark Porter
Dir. of Community Mental Health Ctrs
Maureen Dunleavy
Director of Pretrial Services
Elizabeth Langan